Medal of Honor Awards Program

The Associations Medal of Honor is awarded yearly to a deserving police officer(s) in the State of New York who performed an act of heroism above or beyond the call of duty.

Law Enforcement Executive Development Program

Our Association also provides an on-going training and educational program for law enforcement executives and administrators, conducted jointly and cooperatively by our Association and the Division of Criminal Justice Services, Bureau for Municipal Police, State of New York. This program provides annual seminars, training and informational sessions throughout the State. These programs are of three days duration and are conducted generally at seven different locations throughout the State.

New York State Law Enforcement Accreditation Program

The New York State Association Chiefs of Police promotes training and professionalism for Law Enforcement. Our Association in cooperation with the State Sheriff's Association and the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services developed an Accreditation Program for all law enforcement within the State. This undertaking is critical to support our role to promote professionalism in law enforcement by establishing standards of performance.

Accreditation is a process in which officials evaluate and update an organization's policies and procedures according to commonly accepted standards and goals. An authoritative body then verifies that the standards have been implemented and that all other program requirements have been met. Accreditation status is granted in recognition of the fact that the institution has met or exceeded general expectations of quality in the field.

The legislation which establishes the Accreditation Program authorized the development of model standards that will accomplish four principal objectives:

  1. To increase the effectiveness and efficiency of law enforcement agencies in the delivery of law enforcement services utilizing existing personnel, equipment and facilities to the extent possible;
  2. To promote increased cooperation and coordination among law enforcement agencies and other agencies of the criminal justice system;
  3. To ensure the appropriate training of law enforcement personnel is consistent with other provisions of law; and
  4. To promote public confidence in law enforcement agencies.

The Standards Manual contains a total of 132 standards with three primary functions; Administration, Training, and Operations.

The Accreditation process is similar to that which is used by accrediting bodies in other disciplines. The process consists of five major steps: Application, Policy Development, On-site Assessment, Council Review, and the Awards Ceremony.

Participation in the accreditation program has many tangible and intangible benefits. These benefits impact the agency's command staff, line officers, local government, and the community as a whole.

Through accreditation, agencies can:

  • identify and correct procedural deficiencies;
  • develop proactive management systems;
  • reduce the likelihood of liability litigation;
  • secure community, state, and local government support.

The New York State Association Chiefs of Police is proud of its role in the development, implementation, and support of the Law Enforcement Accreditation Program. We will continue to promote professionalism in law enforcement through our leadership role.